Glimpse history through old images of Newport, Rhode Island.
Newport RI in 1778
On July 8th, 1778, Admiral d’Estaing and the French fleet arrived as part of an attack on British-held Newport, co-ordinated with Washington. By September the British and French fleets were destroyed by storms, many Americans had deserted, and Lafette assisted the strategic withdrawal.
Page 399 of ‘History of Newport County, Rhode Island. From the year 1638 to the year 1887, including the settlement of its towns, and their subsequent progress’ by Richard M. Bayles. Published by L.E. Preston & Co, New York in 1888:
“Newport was by no means an unattractive residence at this
time, as the memoirs and letters of the French officers abundantly show. Trading with all parts of the world which the British navigation laws left open to its commerce, and to some in secret disregard of their restrictions, and the natural port of refuge and supply on the New England coast, it had become, before the middle of the last century, quite a cosmopolitan town. Their British trade was with Bristol, the most liberal of English cities, the Jews had brought in something of Spanish and Portugese splendor, the Huguenots had leavened the mass with the amenity of their race, and the Newporters themselves, by their many voyages, had acquired something of that knowledge of the world, the absence of which is termed provincial.
In no town in America could more intelligence, refinement and
elegance be found than here. Spanish, the medium of commercial correspondence during the entire century, was understood, and French also in the upper class of society, being then held indispensable to a polite education.”
Page 504 of ‘History of Newport County, Rhode Island. From the year 1638 to the year 1887, including the settlement of its towns, and their subsequent progress’ by Richard M. Bayles. Published by L.E. Preston & Co, New York in 1888:
“The Casino.The need of a place of rendezvous for the entertainment of the throng of summer visitors led to the building of a charming and commodious Casino on Bellevue avenue in 1880. Here, encircling a large court laid out for tennis courts, is an extensive and extremely picturesque structure with numerous piazzas, verandahs, reading and restaurant rooms, and attached to it a fine ball room and a pretty theatre. It is occasionally open in the winter season. In the summer season it is the daily resort of a gay and brilliant assemblage of pleasure seekers.The Casino is governed by a board of trustees and is only open to subscribers and by card of entrance. The rates are reasonable and graduated to the time of use.“
Dwight David Eisenhower (October 14, 1890 – March 28, 1969), known as Ike Eisenhower, was an American military officer and statesman who served as the 34th president of the United States from 1953 to 1961.
In 1956 his wife Mamie was recovering from an operation when they boarded the yatch Barbara Anne, named after one of their 6 grandchildren. They then received a warm welcome at Newport Country Club, having been greeted by wellwishers along the route there.
Eisenhower then went to play golf.
Eisenhower On Holiday At Newport (1956-1957) – British Pathé on YouTube
A History of Bellevue Avenue
This is a ten minute video which not only gives lots of engaging information about the history and development of the 2 and a half mile historic Bellevue Avenue, but also includes many old photos of Newport’s famous landmarks.
A History of Bellevue Avenue in Pictures – Newport Historical Society on YouTube